Mission Statement

The mission of Grand Gateway Economic Development Association is to:

  • Serve as a forum for local governments to communicate, cooperate and act regionally to provide efficient governmental services throughout the seven counties
  • Encourage an entrepreneurial attitude toward local government
  • Promote a growing and diverse regional economy
  • Pool human and financial resources to address local and regional services
  • Provide technical expertise for its members and coordinate various planning, safety, infrastructure, transportation and service needs among counties, cities and towns
Represent the region to the state and federal governments
About Grand Gateway Economic Development Association

What is Grand Gateway EDA?

Grand Gateway Economic Development Association is a cooperative created by local governments (cities, towns and counties) to serve local governments.  These cooperatives are commonly known as Councils of Governments (COGs), Regional Planning Commissions (RPCs), Economic Development Districts (EDDs), Sub-state Planning Districts (SSPDs).

What is the purpose of Grand Gateway EDA?

The organization provides a network for local governments to identify and solve community issues.  It is the forum for local governments to communicate, cooperate and to act regionally to address problems and effectively provide governmental services throughout the seven counties.  Grand Gateway can and has spoken on the behalf of the region to both the state and federal governments.

What area does Grand Gateway EDA serve?

Grand Gateway EDA serves the seven northeast counties of Oklahoma encompassing fifty-three cities and towns.  This area of the state is known as Green Country where the foothills of the Ozarks meet the rolling prairie.  Also known as the lake region, the service area is home to Grand Lake O’ the Cherokees, Lake Hudson, Spavinaw Lake and Lake Eucha, Oologah Lake, Copan Lake, designated scenic rivers such as the Illinois River and Flint Creek, and the world’s most inland port, the Tulsa Port of Catoosa, on the Kerr-McClellan Arkansas River Navigation System.  Counties in the Grand Gateway area include Craig, Delaware, Mayes, Nowata, Rogers, Ottawa and Washington.

Who governs Grand Gateway EDA and how are they selected?

Member governments appoint members to the Grand Gateway Board of Directors. 
Each county appoints two board members. Cities with a population greater than 4000 appoint one representative, and cities with a population exceeding 8,000 appoint two members.  Small cities select a representative through an annual nominating process representing small towns by county. 

Minority representatives are chosen by an annual election, and other governments are represented by county (schools, rural water districts, conservation districts, vocational technical schools).  Other board members include economic development interests such as the Inter-Tribal Council and the Cherokee Nation, Tulsa Port of Catoosa and Mid-America Industrial Park as nominated by the Grand Gateway board of directors.

You can use this box to share information with your viewers, welcome them to your page, and link them to other pages of interest on your website